Scope and Content Note

Five amendments to the Constitution of 1777 were adopted by a Convention of Delegates of the State of New York on October 27, 1801. The amendments dealt with reorganization of the Senate and Assembly and the powers of the Council of Appoinment. The engrossed text of the amendments is signed by Aaron Burr, president, and James Van Ingen and Joseph Constant, Secretaries of the Convention. The Constitution of 1777 contained no provision for amendment, and the Convention of 1801 was called pursuant to legislation of 1801.