Scope and Content Note

This series contains documents from county clerks' offices that note various mortgages, land records, and U.S. Deposit Funds. Most of these documents have official seals and are stamped as "received by the New York State Comptroller's Office." The information in this series pertains to the following counties: Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chenango, Dutchess, Erie, Franklin, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Monroe, Montgomery, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, Queens, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Steuben, Suffolk, Sullivan, Tioga, Warren, Ulster, and Westchester. Also included in this series is a letter with nominations for appointments to the positions of coroner, judges of the Court of Common Pleas, and Justices of the Peace in Franklin County (1818), and an account of Myron Holly, Clerk of Ontario County (1815).