Administrative History

The New York State Special Commission on Educational Structure, Policies, and Practices was established by Governor Mario . Cuomo in May, 1993, pursuant to Executive Order 171. The commission was comprised of nine members appointed by the Governor and was chaired by H. Patrick Swygert, President of the University at Albany of the State University of New York.

The commission was created under Section 6 of the Executive Law (the Moreland Act) to undertake a comprehensive and independent review of the state's system of public, elementary, and secondary education. The purpose of the commission was to examine New York State's public school system and to make recommendations to improve its structure, policies, and practices and was charged with examining and investigating "the expenditure, management, and affairs: of all school districts and Boards of Cooperative Educational Services (BOCES)." The commission also was directed to make recommendations that strengthen and improve education practices and procedures and align regulations and laws with education objectives.