Appointment of magistrates for the towns on the east end of Long Island

Scanned Document:

At a Meeting of the Honorable Commanders and Honorable Council of War, holden on the 8th of September, Anno 1673.

Present—  Cornelis Evertse, Junior,  Commanders 
Jacob Benkes, 
Captain Anthony Colve. 

From the nominations submitted by the towns of Southampton, Seatalcket, Huntington, Easthampton and Southold, are elected by the Honorable Council of War:

For Schout,   Isaac Arnouts.[1]  
For Secretary   Henry Pierson. 

And as Magistrates of the undermentioned towns respectively for the next year, whereof a certificate is sent to each in form, to wit:

As Magistrates of the town of Southampton:  
Edward Howell, 
As Magistrates of the town of Seatalcket:  
Richard Woodhill, 
As Magistrates of the town of Huntington:  
Joseph Whiteman, 
As Magistrates of the town of Easthampton:  
John Mellford, 
As Magistrates of the town of Southold:  
Thomas More, 


Sic. Arnold. — Ed.


Translation: O'Callaghan, E.B., trans./ed., Documents Relative to the Colonial History of the State of New-York, vol. 2 (Albany: Weed, Parsons: 1858), pp. 569-730 (vol. 23, pp. 1-270 only).A complete copy of this publication is available on the New Netherland Institute website.