Appointment of magistrates and militia officers for Swaenenburgh (Kingston), Marbletown and Hurley

Scanned Document:

Herewith goes the election of the Magistrates and Militia officers of the towns of and Marble, who shall have to be sworn into their respective offices by Ensign Vos, who is ordered to stop at the Esopus, on his way down, for that purpose. As regards the nomination for Schout, whereunto, among others, is nominated William Beeckman, who resides and is in office here and also declines accepting that appointment; therefore have I deemed it necessary to recommend you and the other inhabitants of Swaencnburgh to nominate, by plurality of votes, another proper person as Schout, in the place of said Beekman, and to send such nomination hither by the first opportunity; whereupon relying, I shall remain,

Your friend 
Fort Willem Hendrick   A. Colve 
6th October, 1673. 

The above letter is sent to the inhabitants of Swaenenburgh and those of the Towns of Horly and Marble.

From the nomination by the inhabitants of the Town of Swaenenburgh, the Governor selected for the next year as follows:

For Schepens:  
Cornelis Wyncoop,  Wessell Ten Broeck, 
Roeloff Kierstede,  Jan Burhans. 
For Militia Officers:  
Captain,  Mathys Mathysen. 
Lieutenant,  Jan Willemsen. 
Ensign,  Mathys Barentsen. 
For Magistrates of the Towns of Horly and Marble:  
Louis du Bois,  Jan Joosten, and 
Roeloff Hendricksen,  Jan Broersen. 
For Militia Officers:  
Captain,  Albert Heymans. 
Lieutenant,  Jan Broersen. 
Ensign,  Gerrit Adriaensen. 

and for Secretary of the Court of Swaenenburgh, Horly and Marbletown, William Lamontague, who hath also taken the oath as Secretary.


Translation: O'Callaghan, E.B., trans./ed., Documents Relative to the Colonial History of the State of New-York, vol. 2 (Albany: Weed, Parsons: 1858), pp. 569-730 (vol. 23, pp. 1-270 only).A complete copy of this publication is available on the New Netherland Institute website.