Appointment of magistrates for Brooklyn and adjoining towns

Scanned Document:

Ordered thereupon:

The Petitioners shall enjoy their lawfully acquired houses, lands and goods, together with such privileges as are granted and accorded to their neighboring towns of Achter Coll. What regards the privileges obtained from their previous Patroons, the same is denied the Petitioners. From the submitted nomination of the Delegates from the respective towns, Midwout, Bruekelen, Amersfort, Utrecht, Boswyck and Gravesend, the Honorable Council of War have selected as Magistrates of said towns:

As Schout,   Jacob Strycker. 
As Secretary Francis De Bruyn. 

And as Schepens of the respective towns, as followeth:

As Schepens of the town of Midwout:  
Hendrik Jorissen, 
Jan Strycker, 
As Schepens of the town of Bruekelen:  
Theunis Gysbertse Bogaert, 
Frederik Lubbertse, 
As Schepens of the town of Amesfort:  
Elbert Elbertse, 
Abram Jorissen, 
As Schepens of the town of Utreght:  
Thomas Jansen, 
Hendrik Mattyssen, 
As Schepens of the town of Boswyk:  
Hendrik Barentse Smit, 
Gysbert Theunissen, 
As Schepens of the town of Gravesend:  
Samuel Spicer,  John Emans, 
Richard Stilwill,  Barn Urin. 

All the aforesaid, Schout, Secretary and respective Schepens are required to come at the earliest opportunity and take the oath of allegiance, which being done, all the inhabitants of those towns and their dependencies are ordered and charged them to acknowledge and obey as such, as faithful subjects are bound to do; whereof certificates in due form have been sent to each of the above named towns.


Translation: O'Callaghan, E.B., trans./ed., Documents Relative to the Colonial History of the State of New-York, vol. 2 (Albany: Weed, Parsons: 1858), pp. 569-730 (vol. 23, pp. 1-270 only).A complete copy of this publication is available on the New Netherland Institute website.