Appointment of magistrates for Elizabethtown, Woodbridge, Shrewsbury and Newark (N. J.) and Mamaroneck

Scanned Document:

At a Meeting of the Commanders and Honorable Council of War of New Netherland, holden in Fort Willem Hendrik the 24th August, 1673.

Present —  Commander Cornelis Evertse, Junior, 
Commander Jacob Benckes, 
Captain Anthony Colve. 

From the nomination presented by the inhabitants of the Towns of Elisabets Towne, Woodbridge, Schrousbury, Middeltowne and Mamarneck, the following are this day elected Schepens of said Towns:

Magistrates or Schepens of Elizabets Towne:  
John Ogden, Senior,  Samuel Hopkins, 
Jacob Melyn. 
Magistrates or Schepens of Woodbridge:  
Samuel Dennis,  Sworn 1st September, 1673 
Obadiah Hoits, 
Stephen Kent, 
Magistrates or Schepens of Shrousbury:  
John Hanoe,  Sworn 1st September, 1673. 
Eleakim Wardil, 
Hugh Dyckman, 
Magistrates or Schepens of Newworke:  
Jasper Crane,   Sworn 1st September, 1673. 
Robbert Bond, 
John Ward,  
Magistrates of Mamarneck:  
John Busset,  Henry Pisbrou. 

Of which election a formal certificate was sent to each of said Towns, and 'tis ordered that those elected shall come hither on the first opportunity to be sworn in.


Translation: O'Callaghan, E.B., trans./ed., Documents Relative to the Colonial History of the State of New-York, vol. 2 (Albany: Weed, Parsons: 1858), pp. 569-730 (vol. 23, pp. 1-270 only).A complete copy of this publication is available on the New Netherland Institute website.