Appointment of magistrates for Flushing and adjoining English towns on Long Island

Scanned Document:

At a Meeting of the Commanders and Honorable Council of War, holden on the 31st August, 1673.

Present—  Commander Jacob Benckes, 
Commander Cornelis Evertsen, Junior, 
Captain Anthony Colve. 

From the exhibits of the inhabitants of the undernamed towns on Long Island, the following were this day elected Magistates of the said towns:

For the towns of Flushing, Heemstede, Rustdorp, Middelborg & Oisterbay;

For Schout,   William Lawrence. 
For Secretary,   Carel van Brugge, 

who have taken the oath before the Council of War, the 4th September, 1673.

For Schepens of Flushing:  
John Hingsman,  
Francis Bloetgoet,  
Richard Wildie,  
For Schepens of Heemstede:  
John Smith, Senior, 
John Semmens, 
William Jacobs, 
For Schepens of Rustdorp:  
John Carpenter,  
Robberd Ashman, 
Nathaniel Denton,  
For Schepens of Middelborgh:  
Richard Belts,  
Jonathan Hazard, 
Ralph Hunt,  
For Schepens of Oisterbay:  
Nicolas Wright,  
Thomas Tounsen, 
Nathaniel Coles, 

Certificates in due form of all the preceding elections are transmitted.

This day the Proclamation of the seizure of the goods belonging to the subjects of England and France, hereinbefore enregistered under date 18th of August, is transmitted to the courts of Willemstadt[1] and Esopus to be there published and posted up.


Now, Albany. —Ed.


Translation: O'Callaghan, E.B., trans./ed., Documents Relative to the Colonial History of the State of New-York, vol. 2 (Albany: Weed, Parsons: 1858), pp. 569-730 (vol. 23, pp. 1-270 only).A complete copy of this publication is available on the New Netherland Institute website.