Administrative History

The position of executive director of the New York State Council on the Arts has been held by the following individuals: Laurence Roberts (1960-1961); John H. MacFadyen (1961-1964); John B. Hightower (1964-1970); Eric Larrabee (1971-1975); Kent Barwick (1975-1976); Robert A. Mayer (1976-1979); Theodore Striggles (1979-1980); Mary Hays (1980-1995); Al Berr (April, 1995-August, 1996); Nicolette B. Clarke (1996-2004); Richard Schwartz-acting executive director (2004-2007); Heather Hitchens (2007-2011); and Lisa Robb (2011-present).