Administrative History

The Public Service Commission Act of 1907 replaced existing state regulatory authorities with two district public service commissions (one for New York City and the other for the rest of the state). In 1921, the two district commissions were abolished and replaced by a single Public Service Commission with statewide authority over all public utilities except rapid transit in New York City, which was given to the newly created Transit Commission. The Transit Commission functioned until 1943, when it was abolished and the Public Service Commission assumed its responsibilities and functions.